St Mary’s is a beautiful church that dominates Warwick’s skyline. Marvel at the magnificent 15th century Beauchamp Chapel and climb the 134 foot tower for stunning views of the town, the castle and beyond.
The hidden hedged gardens at Hill Close were used by Victorians living above their businesses to escape from the crowded town. Their owners went there after work and on Sundays to tend their plots or just to relax. The sixteen gardens, including several attractive summerhouses, have been restored to their Victorian splendour. Teas, gifts and plants are available in the modern Visitor Centre
Beautiful 14th and 15th century timber-framed buildings clustered around the Norman gateway into Warwick. For nearly 200 years the buildings were the base for Warwick’s medieval guilds before they became a rest home for retired servicemen which they remain today.
The Saltisford Arm of the Grand Union Canal has been transformed by volunteers from a site of dereliction into peaceful moorings set in a series of gardens and orchards.
Originally constructed in the 1790s as the terminus of the Warwick and Birmingham Canal, today the Saltisford Canal Arm offers a tranquil green oasis with a contemplation area and sensory garden.
Two fascinating museums are set in a fine 17th century Jacobean house with a peaceful garden. The social history collection at St John’s Museum reflects the lives of Warwickshire people over the last 300 years. The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers Museum tells the story of the Royal Warwickshire Regiment from 1674 through to the Fusiliers of today.
Popular park offering broad swathes of grass, floral displays, riverside walks, boating, amusements, crazy golf course, pony rides, outdoor paddling pool, tennis, football courts, BMX track, children’s play areas, a cafe and a leisure centre.
At the end of Mill Street famous for it’s 15th and 16th century buildings is where you will find the Mill Garden renowned for the quality of its planting and breathtaking position on the banks of the River Avon, lying beneath the walls of Warwick Castle.
Hidden behind the ancient buildings is the delightful Master’s Garden. The Queen’s Own Hussars Museum tells the story of the West Midlands’ Cavalry Regiment.
One of the three Warwick Military Museums.
Celebrate over 1,100 years of history at Warwick Castle! A Grade I listed building and Scheduled Ancient Monument, Warwick Castle has played a prominent role in English history for 11 centuries. Visitors can explore Mediaeval Towers and Ramparts, roam grounds designed by famous landscaper Capability Brown – 2016 is the 300th anniversary of his birth – and marvel at the Great Hall and State Rooms. Open 364 days a year, guests can enjoy attractions that bring history vividly to life!
Racing has been part of Warwick life since 1707 and the course still hosts a full programme of jump racing throughout the year.
The Racecourse encircles the Lammas Field Common on St Mary’s Lands where there are large expanses of grassland rich in wildlife.
Lying just a few hundred yards from Warwick Castle, Warwick Racecourse retains its historic charm and character.
Visit the website for dates and details of each race day.
Market Hall, is a 17th century building in the centre of Warwick. Here you’ll find displays on the geology, natural history and early history of the county. Highlights include the Sheldon Tapestry Map of Warwickshire, our live observation bee hive and our famous (tweeting) Giant Irish deer. The museum also hosts temporary exhibitions and exciting events throughout the year.
The Market Hall Museum is currently closed for refurbishment work. We hope to re-open after September 2016.